image001.png Bhu-logo.jpg index1_r1_c1.jpg

Indian Aging Congress- 2010

A joint VIIIth Annual Conference of Indian Academy of Geriatrics and XV Biennial Conference of Association of Gerontology, India is being organized as INDIAN AGING CONGRESS- 2010 at Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi ( India ) on 12th, 13th and 14th November, 2010.



The Association of Gerontology, India

The association of Gerontology, India (AGI) was established in 1981 with headquarter at Varanasi and is affiliated to International Association of Gerontology (IAG). The basic objectives of AGI are to promote advancement of knowledge in biological, medical and psycho-social disciplines of gerontology by research, training and holding of scientific conferences, workshop etc. AGI has presently more than 400 members. It awards prizes to the young researchers, namely A.V. Tilak (medical and biology) and Sri Venkatswarya Prize. It holds national conference biennially preferably along with Indian Academy of Geriatrics (IAG) to promote interaction between various disciplines working for elderly. 

Indian Academy of Geriatrics

Indian Academy of Geriatrics (IAG) was established in the year 2002 with headquarter at Chennai (Tamilnadu, India) with objectives of promoting orientation, training and research in medical profession about old age medical problems. It publishes a quarterly medical journal (Journal of IAG) and holds national conference annually. During the conference, there is a CME, geriatric quiz competition and 3 prizes each in oral and poster presentations for researchers. 

Web Pages



Governing Body





President:                   Dr. Arvind Mathur
Past President:           Dr. I.S.Gambhir
Vice- President:         Dr. Tapas Das 
Secretary:                  Dr. Y.Satyanarayana Raju
Joint Secretaries:         Dr. G.S.Shanthi (HQ)

Dr. S.S.Lehl

Dr. Nilakshi Mahanta

Treasurer:                   Dr.A.Krishnaprasad 
Editor JIAG:            Dr.Arvind Mathur
Joint Editor:                Dr.Prasad Mathews

Executive Committee

Dr.Alka Ganesh,Dr. Dalus,Dr. P. Kar,Dr. S. N. Swain,Dr.G.B.Gupta

 AGI executive members

(Jan 2009-Dec 2010) 

Patrons:                                  Prof. M.S. Kanungo (Varanasi)

Prof. P.V. Ramamurthi (Tirupati)

Prof. Mahadi Hassan (Lucknow) 

Past president:                       Prof. D. Jamuna (Tirupati) 

President:                                Prof. I.S. Ganbhir (Varanasi) 

Vice-Presidents:                     Prof. Ramesh Sharma (Shillong)

 Prof. S. Irudyarajan (Trivendrum) 

Secretary:                                Prof. Arvind Joshi (Varanasi)

Treasurer:                               Prof. S. Prasad (Varanasi) 

Joint secretary:                       Dr. K. Lalitha (Tirupati) 

Council members:                    Prof. S.K. Trigun (Varanasi)

  Prof. Gurcharan Kaur (Amritsar)

  Prof. B. Krishnaswami (Chennai)
              Prof. A.B. Dey (New Delhi)
              Dr. A.M. Khan (New Delhi)
              Dr. Jaishree (Tirupati)

International executive:           Prof. Jyotsana Kalawar (USA) 

Special Invitees:                     All the past presidents of AGI present

during forthcoming AGI meeting 

Zonal Co-ordinators:                  

Eastern zone:                        Prof. Prafull Chakraborty (Kolkata)
Western zone:                       Prof. Anjali (Pune)
North zone:                           Prof. A. Bali (New Delhi)
South zone:                           Prof. D. Jamuna (Tirupati)

International Coordinator:   

Prof. Shanti Johnson (Canada)


Abstract submission
Registration & Payment
Organising Committee
Contact Us