Department of Psychiatry

Year of establishment: 1971

The Department of Psychiatry was established in 1971. The founder father of the Department is Prof. O.N.Srivastava, The MD course was started in 1971 and course was approved by MCI. Ph.D. (Clinical Psychology) was started in 1979 and 17 candidates have been awarded Ph.D. Significant contributions are: Starting of DeAddiction Centre (Mahamana Jyoti Kendra). 20 National and 2 International Publications. The department has honour of organizing Annual Conference of IPS, 2 Mid Term CME and one International CME. High link education program between BHU and University of Leicester, UK and 75 distinguished faculty have visited the department.