• CHS Building

Welcome to Law School

The Law School is one of the earliest Faculties established in the Banaras Hindu University, when teaching started in 1921-22 academic session in two rooms borrowed from the Faculty of Arts. The time was 5 P.M and most of the Faculty members were part time teachers, mostly advocates of Allahabad High Courts. Mahamana Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya, the founder of this university, served for many years as Dean of Law School. The legal luminaries like Sir Ras Behari Ghosh and Sir Tej Bahadur Sapru, were the earlier Deans.

It was the financial support of the Ford Foundation that the Law School got a modern building because of the efforts made by Prof. Anandjee and during his Deanship; the Law School reached a new height. The foundation stone of present building was laid down by the former Prime Minister of India, Late Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri on 28th December, 1964.

The Law School is located at a prominent place on the first semicircle around central registry and is housed in a beautiful building constituting the complex. It consists of five distinct wings, viz, the academic wing, well furnished chambers of faculty members and Faculty Lounge linseed by offices of the Faculty administration with the Lecture Theater, classrooms and seminar rooms on the ground floor and Library, Moot Court, Classrooms on the first floor. The structure is same as that of Harvard Law School.

The Law School has been pioneer in introducing full time three year LL.B course of studies and two year full time LL.M. programme. It has taken a lead and perhaps the only Law School in India in introducing two years full time special courses of LL.M. in Human Rights and Duties Educations. It is the first Law School in India to introduce clinical legal education and legal aid program to cater the needs of the poor. The Law School has also taken a lead to introduce community oriented courses of law introducing Law Environment, Law and Country and Town Planning, Law and Poverty, Law and Population, Law and Animals and Many more which were unheard to most of the Law colleges of India.

Not only the Law School is providing adequate facilities for higher studies but a number of students are doing research work in the area like Law of Taxation, Constitutional Law, Personal law, Intellectual Property Rights, International Law and many more subjects. The Law school is publishing a first rate law journal in the country on annual basis. Eminent Indian and foreign scholars contribute research papers for publication in journal. To promote skill of advocacy and love for legal profession for among the Law students, Moot Court Society is established in the Law School.

The Banaras Law School was one of the Six Universities in India to start CLINICAL LEGAL SERVICES. The model developed by Law School has been judged as the best model by Hon’ble Mr. Justice P. N. Bhagwati, former Chief Justice of India.

Our Vision

The Banaras Law School should be a pioneer institution of legal education in India with an excellent team of teachers and a selected students body, stressing individual attention and extensive as well as intensive study and thereby carrying further the all important task of educational renaissance in the country in a manner befitting the monumental efforts of the founder of the University, Mahamana Madan Mohan Malaviya ji” - Prof. Anand Jee, 'Dean's Report', (1965) 1 Banaras Law Journal 1, at 3.

Our Assumptions

  • WE BELIEVE that Dharma sustains the whole universe, i.e. Dharmo Vishwasya Jagatah Pratistha.
  • WE BELIEVE that Law Graduates have to play a significant role in the preservation and promotion of the cherished values of the society.

  • WE BELIEVE that if the Rule of Law is to be preserved and the law graduates are to play their full role in the society, we must provide a system of legal education that will produce man adept in tailoring legal prescription to the needs of present day India and making our law a tool of social engineering.


    1. SIR RASHBIHARI GHOSE 1916 - 1919

    2. SIR TEJBAHADUR SAPRU 1919 - 1921


    4. PROF. L. R. SIVASUBRAMANIAN 1939 - 1946

    5. PROF. G. B. JOSHI 1946 - 1958

    6. PROF. ANANDJEE 1959 - 1973

    7. PROF. DHARMA PRATAP 1973 - 1976

    8. PROF. R. P. DHOKALIA 1976 - 1980

    9. PROF. KRISHNA BAHADUR 1980 - 1983

    10. PROF. M. C. BIJAWAT 1983 - 1985, 1991 - 1993

    11. PROF. R. K. MISRA 1985 - 1987

    12. PROF. V. N. SINGH 1987 - 1989, 1994 - 1996

    13. PROF. C. M. JARIWALA 1989 - 1991, 1996 - 1997

    14. PROF. G. P. VERMA 1997 - 2000

    15. PROF. S. NATH 2000 - 2002

    16. PROF. M. P. SINGH 2002 - 2005

    17. PROF. R. A. MALVIYA 2005 - 2006

    18. PROF. M. N. P. SRIVASTAVA 2006 - 2009

    19. PROF. D. P. VERMA 2009 - 2012

    20. PROF. B. C. NIRMAL 2012 -2014

    21. PROF. B. N. PANDEY 2014 -2015

    22. PROF. D.K.SHARMA 2015 -